The Art Monk Hall of Fame Campaign

August 2, 2008

Today is the day…

Filed under: News — DjTj @ 9:16 am

When I started this blog more than two years ago, this was the day I was working towards.  In the beginning, I had no idea whether we could really help Art Monk get into the Hall of Fame, but I wanted to know why the voters were not voting for him.

I found out that the majority of voters were in fact voting for Monk, but a very small group was keeping him out.  Some of these voters had actually written very positive things about Monk in earlier years, and were even willing to listen to reason.  Many other fans joined the effort, and he was voted in faster than I could have expected.

But why Art Monk?

I was drawn to this cause by the inherent mystery of the situation.  Everyone I knew could not understand why Art Monk wasn’t in the Hall.  Former players and coaches, TV commentators, and sportswriters consistently cited Monk as the biggest Hall of Fame snub.  The fact that Monk could not be inducted seemed absurd, and I just really wanted to know why.

Of course, I was also a big Art Monk fan.  I was born at Washington Adventist Hospital in 1981, and grew up with the Joe Gibbs Redskins.  The number 81 always had special meaning to me, and Art Monk was a standout on many great Redskins teams.  I also felt a connection to Art’s personality, because I have never been the most outspoken person.  Art Monk showed that it was possible to be great without being flashy.  It was possible to show your skills without showing off.  He was quiet, but his performance on the field did all the talking.

I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Monk a few months ago, and while I was introduced to him somewhat embarassingly as one of his biggest fans and the author of this blog, he took everything in stride, and showed his appreciation in the understated fashion that is the hallmark of his personality.

I am about to leave my home in DC to get in a car to Canton, where I will watch Art give his induction speech.  Tomorrow, I will see his bust in the Hall of Fame.  It will be the culmination of two years of my work on this blog, but more importantly, it will be a celebration of Mr. Monk’s decades of contribution to football.

Congratulations, Art.  You definitely deserve it.

2 Comments »

  1. DjTj, thanks for all your efforts with the site over the years. It’s indeed great to see Art finally inducted.

    As for the mystery behind the long delay, I have a take on it where an explanation may have become more clear based on his speech. Rather than take up space here on your entry’s comments, I’ll point interested readers to my own, at http://carehart.org/blog/client/index.cfm/2008/8/3/art_monk_enshrined.

    Comment by charlie arehart — August 3, 2008 @ 4:11 pm

  2. Many thanks to you DjTj. While it was Kercheval’s video which inspired me to act in support of Monk, it was your site which kept me up to date with the arguments being made and allowed me a forum to work on how to refute those against him. Without this blog, I never would have developed my pro-Monk Powerpoint and had the resources to get it to many voters and other interested parties. This blog became a forum for developing effective arguments in Monk’s favor and sharing them with his other supporters. I also want to thank the naysayers and those who had not yet been convinced who left comments here. You helped us sharpen our approach and helped guide us to victory.

    Comment by remember the redskins — November 23, 2008 @ 10:23 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

