The Art Monk Hall of Fame Campaign

April 22, 2006

Frank Cooney

Filed under: Voter Articles — DjTj @ 11:12 am

Frank Cooney founded The Sports Xchange in 1987, and he sits on the Hall of Fame committee for the Oakland Raiders.  There isn't a lot of information about Art Monk in articles written by Frank, but he e-mailed a Redskins fan in February stating that he did vote for Monk.

-=-=-=-=-=-
The Sports Network
September 27, 1996
Washington Redskins Team Notes
Frank Cooney

WAITING FOR A CHANCE: The NFL may think former Redskins Art Monk is retired at age 39, but he'd still like to play again. The only team to offer him a contract this year was the Philadelphia Eagles, who offered him a minimum deal for $ 275,000 with no incentives. When he insisted on incentives, they passed.

He thinks he can still play.

"I think I'm the same," Monk said. "I can still catch the ball. I'm running as fast as ever. I ran a 4.5 when I came in. I ran a 4.5 last year for the Eagles. My age is what everybody looks at. Instead of judging me for what I do, they judge me on my age. I don't think the mature athlete has really gotten the respect he deserves. I feel I can still compete with guys 10 years younger.''

He played the final three games last year for the Eagles,
catching six passes. That brought his total to 940, second on the all-time list to Jerry Rice's 964. He'd like to reach the 1,000 mark but that now appears out of reach. The 1982 and 1987 strikes cost him that shot.

Blog at WordPress.com.

