The Art Monk Hall of Fame Campaign

October 27, 2006

Preliminary nominees for Class of ‘07

Filed under: News — DjTj @ 8:02 pm

Pro Football Hall of Fame
October 27, 2006
111 on the Hall’s Nomination List of Modern-Era Preliminary Candidates for the Class of 2007

Offensive lineman Bruce Matthews and running back Terrell Davis are first-year eligible candidates among a list of 111 former players, coaches, and contributors who make up the preliminary list of modern-era nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2007.
From this preliminary list of modern-era nominees, Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semi-finalist nominees. The list of 25 modern-era semifinalists will be announced later next month.

The 25 modern-era semifinalists list will be reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists. The final list for Hall of Fame consideration will consist of 15 modern-era and two senior nominees. The two senior finalists, Gene Hickerson, a guard with the Cleveland Browns 1958-1960, 1962-1973, and Charlie Sanders, a tight end with the Detroit Lions, 1968-1977 were selected this past August by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

This year marks the first time that the finalists list will number 17. Prior to this year, the finalist list was limited to 15 nominees, 13 modern-era and two senior candidates.

The Class of 2007 will be selected from the list of 17 finalists. The actual voting will be conducted at the Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, February 3, 2007, in Miami, Florida, the day before Super Bowl XLI. The election results will be announced immediately after the meeting at a press conference in the media headquarters. While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the ground rules provide that between three and six new members will be selected.    

Other first-year eligible candidates for the Class of 2007 include quarterback Randall Cunningham, running back Ricky Watters, guards Randall McDaniel and Steve Wisniewski, center Mark Stepnoski, and defensive backs Eric Allen, LeRoy Butler, and Carnell Lake.

Also on the impressive preliminary list are eight former head coaches, and 17 contributors, including NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jerry Jones, Art Modell and Ralph Wilson.

To be considered for Hall of Fame election, a nominated player must have been retired at least five years. For a non-player, there is no mandatory retirement period, but a coach must be retired before he may be considered. A contributor, who is a nominee who has made outstanding contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing or coaching, may still be active in his pro football career.

Alphabetical list of nominees

Nominees by position

Create a free website or blog at

%d bloggers like this: