The Art Monk Hall of Fame Campaign

October 31, 2007

Preliminary Nominees for 2008

Filed under: News — DjTj @ 10:04 am

124 make up list of preliminary nominees for Hall’s Class of 2008
Pro Football Hall of Fame
October 30, 2007

Wide receivers Cris Carter and Herman Moore and cornerback Darrell Green are first-year eligible candidates among a list of 124 modern-era players, coaches, and contributors who make up the preliminary list of nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2008.

From this preliminary list of modern-era nominees, Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees.  The list of 25 modern-era semifinalists will be announced later next month.The 25 modern-era semifinalists list will be reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists.
The final list for Hall of Fame consideration will consist of those 15 modern-era nominees plus two previously announced senior nominees, Marshall Goldberg and Emmitt Thomas.  Goldberg, a multi-purpose back was a two-way star with the Chicago Cardinals from 1939-1943 and following World War II from 1946 to 1948.  Thomas, an all-league cornerback, starred for 13 seasons (1966-1978) for the Kansas City Chiefs.  The two senior nominees were selected this past August by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

This is the first year that coaches are affected by the mandatory five-year waiting period; one of three significant changes to the selection process by-laws approved by the Hall of Fame’s Board of Trustees this year.  The other major changes include increasing the minimum and maximum number of nominees that can be elected from a minimum of three and a maximum of six, to a minimum of four and a maximum of seven.  The Board of Trustees also approved an increase in the number of selectors on the Selection Committee from 40 to 44.

Art Monk* WR 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles


  1. Here is the list of the preliminary nominees for 2008:


    WIDE RECEIVERS – Cris Carter, Herman Moore

    RUNNING BACK – Eric Metcalf (also WR/KR/PR)

    OFFENSIVE LINEMEN (TACKLES) – Tony Boselli, Lomas Brown, Richmond Webb

    LINEBACKERS – Levon Kirkland, Hardy Nickerson

    DEFENSIVE BACK – Darrell Green (CB)


    QUARTERBACKS – Ken Anderson, Randall Cunningham, Boomer Esiason, Jim Plunkett, Phil Simms, Ken Stabler, Joe Theismann, Danny White, Doug Williams

    RUNNING BACKS – Ottis Anderson, Roger Craig, Terrell Davis, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters

    WIDE RECEIVERS – Cliff Branch, Harold Carmichael, Dwight Clark, Gary Clark, Isaac Curtis, Henry Ellard, Roy Green, *Art Monk, Drew Pearson, *Andre Reed

    TIGHT ENDS – Mark Bavaro, Todd Christensen, Ben Coates, Russ Francis, Brent Jones, Jay Novacek

    OFFENSIVE LINEMEN – Jim Covert (T), Dermontti Dawson (C), *Russ Grimm (G), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Kent Hill (G/T), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), *Bob Kuechenberg (G), Jim Lachey (T), Mark May (T/G/C), Randall McDaniel (G), Jeff Van Note (C), Steve Wisniewski (G), *Gary Zimmerman (T)

    DEFENSIVE LINEMEN – Ray Childress (DT/DE), *Fred Dean (DE), *Richard Dent (DE), Chris Doleman (DE/LB), Jacob Green (DE), Charles Haley (DE/LB), Jim Jeffcoat (DE), Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DE), Cortez Kennedy (DT), Joe Klecko (DE/DT/NT), Fred Smerlas (NT)

    LINEBACKERS – Cornelius Bennett, Matt Blair, Robert Brazile, Randy Gradishar, Kevin Greene (LB/DE), Ken Harvey, Rickey Jackson, Wilber Marshall, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Pat Swilling, Darryl Talley, *Derrick Thomas, *Andre Tippett

    DEFENSIVE BACKS – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Raymond Clayborn (CB), Nolan Cromwell (S), Kenny Easley (S), Lester Hayes (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), Ken Riley (CB), Donnie Shell (S), Louis Wright (CB)

    KICKER/PUNTERS – *Ray Guy (P), Nick Lowery (K), Reggie Roby (P)

    SPECIAL TEAMS – Elbert Shelley (S), Steve Tasker (WR)

    COACHES – Don Coryell, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Clark Shaughnessy, Ernie Zampese

    CONTRIBUTORS – K. S. “Bud” Adams, Jr., Gil Brandt, C. O. Brocato, Leo Carlin, Ed DeBartolo, Jr., Pat Haggerty, Bob Harlan, Jerry Jones, Bucko Kilroy, Art McNally, Art Modell, Art Rooney, Jr., Ed Sabol, Steve Sabol, *Paul Tagliabue, Jim Tunney, Ralph Wilson, Jr., Ron Wolf, George Young

    I personally see 14 guys on this list who I think should definitely end up enshrined eventually (not necessarily this year).
    These include: Cris Carter, Darrell Green, Roger Craig, Art Monk, Jay Novacek, Russ Grimm, Jay Hilgenberg, Joe Jacoby, Bob Kuechenberg, Randall McDaniel, Gary Zimmerman, Derrick Thomas, Lester Hayes, & Ed Sabol of NFL Films. Obviously, I lean towards guys who had individual and team success in the playoffs, as well as having an affinity for Offensive Linemen.

    I’d love to see other people’s opinions on this list.

    Comment by remember the redskins — November 1, 2007 @ 7:20 am

  2. Sorry, 1 more.
    I failed to list Andre Reed, who should also be inducted.

    This year, I’d love to see Monk, Reed, Darrell Green, Gary Zimmerman, and Derrick Thomas go in.

    That clears space for other WR candidates in future years without ommitting Monk and Reed. Meanwhile, the under-represented offensive linemen and defensive players get some love.

    Anybody else got ideal classes of ’08?

    Comment by remember the redskins — November 1, 2007 @ 7:28 am

  3. It’s good to see Henry Ellard on the list. He spent his whole career under the radar while getting a huge number of yards. One name conspicuously absent from the list is that of Stanley Morgan who was spectacular for a New England Patriot team that rarely rose to the level of mediocrity in the 1980s.

    For Hall of Fame contention, it’s good to have played for good teams. Art Monk played some excellent football for the Redskins in the ’80s and ’90s, but his 13.5 average yards-per-catch is lower than that of a lot of tight ends. Still, he’s a better choice than Lynn Swann or John Stallworth who are both already in. Swann made it because of a few spectacular catches he made in critical situations, and Stallworth had to be included because he was consistently superior to his teammate.

    Comment by Howard — November 25, 2007 @ 7:16 am

  4. Nice thoughts on Ellard and Morgan. I’d have to look closer to be sure I thought they were Hall of Fame guys, but I always liked them both while they were playing.

    Be careful about using Monk’s YPC against him. It ends up spilling onto other candidates. Monk’s YPC is actually better than those of Cris Carter and future candidate Marvin Harrison. His playoffs YPC is better than Carter, Andre Reed, Tim Brown, Jerry Rice and other really good players. I’m not saying YPC doesn’t matter, I’m just saying it’s not the kind of stat that can just be quoted as negative proof in and of itself. Monk’s YPC was as low as it was largely because he often WAS used like a tight end in the ‘Skins offense. Monk also had plenty of long-gainers to his credit. Check out my list of 81 of his greatest plays elsewhere on this site, and you’ll see what I mean. He was used in shorter routes because he pretty much NEVER played alongside another receiver of any size at all. There’s a reason the rest of the ‘Skins WRs were known as the “smurfs” during the early to mid ’80s, and Clark and Sanders were no giants themselves. Monk was the one wideout on the ‘Skins roster who could take the pounding which these short to mid-range routes reward you with on a consistent basis.

    Comment by remember the redskins — November 26, 2007 @ 4:24 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: