The Art Monk Hall of Fame Campaign

November 29, 2007

Modern era semi-finalists for Class of 2008

Filed under: News — DjTj @ 11:08 am


Modern era semi-finalists for Class of 2008
Pro Football Hall of Fame
November 28, 2007

Wide receiver Cris Carter and cornerback Darrell Green are the only first-year eligible players to make the list of 26 semi-finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2008. The Hall of Fame’s Board of Selectors chose the 26 semi-finalists from the recently announced list of 124 preliminary nominees. The list includes one more than the required 25 since there was a tie for the twenty-fifth position.

The list of 26 semi-finalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era candidates. That list will increase to 17 finalist nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee. The Seniors Committee nominees, who were announced in August, are Marshall Goldberg and Emmitt Thomas.

Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Denver Broncos
Dermontti Dawson, C – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers
Fred Dean, DE – 1975-1981 San Diego Chargers, 1981-85 San Francisco 49ers
Richard Dent, DE – 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles
Randy Gradishar, LB – 1974-1983 Denver Broncos
Darrell Green, CB – 1983-2002 Washington Redskins
Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Russ Grimm, G – 1981-1991 Washington Redskins
Ray Guy, P – 1973-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Lester Hayes, CB – 1977-1986 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders
Rickey Jackson, LB – 1981-1993 New Orleans Saints, 1994-95 San Francisco 49ers
Joe Jacoby, T – 1981-1993 Washington Redskins
Cortez Kennedy, DT – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks
Bob Kuechenberg, G – 1970-1984 Miami Dolphins
Randall McDaniel, G – 1988-1999 Minnesota Vikings, 2000-01 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Art Monk, WR – 1980-1993 Washington Redskins, 1994 New York Jets, 1995 Philadelphia Eagles
Andre Reed, WR –1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Ken Stabler, QB – 1970-79 Oakland Raiders, 1980-81 Houston Oilers, 1982-84 New Orleans Saints
Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League
Steve Tasker, Special Teams/WR – 1985-1986 Houston Oilers, 1986-1997 Buffalo Bills
Derrick Thomas, LB – 1989-1999 Kansas City Chiefs
Andre Tippett, LB – 1982-1993 New England Patriots
George Young, GM/Administrator – 1968-1974 Baltimore Colts, 1975-78 Miami Dolphins, 1979-1997 New York Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League
Gary Zimmerman, T – 1986-1992 Minnesota Vikings, 1993-97 Denver Broncos

1 Comment

  1. The finalists were just announced!
    Along with Art Monk, fellow Redskins Darrell Green and Russ Grimm were retained on the list. Wide receiver nominees also include Cris Carter and Andre Reed.
    Since my Powerpoint specifically addresses the ways in which Monk is a better candidate than these two fine players, I’m going to be sending it out to more voters.

    Other finalists are Paul Tagliabue, Gary Zimmerman, Randall Mc Daniel, Derrick Thomas, Emmitt Thomas, Marshall Goldberg, Fred Dean, Richard Dent, Andre Tippett, Randy Gradishar, Bob Kuechenberg, and Ray Guy.

    Comment by remember the redskins — January 15, 2008 @ 6:29 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: